2023 Hillman Prize Contest

The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting entries for the 2023 Hillman Prizes honoring excellence in investigative journalism and commentary in service of the common good.

The Hillman Prizes celebrate investigative reporting and deep storytelling that exposes social and economic injustice and leads to meaningful public policy change.

The 2023 Hillman Prizes will be awarded in the following categories: Book (nonfiction), Newspaper Reporting (print/online), Magazine Reporting (print/online), Broadcast Journalism (story/series/documentary, with at least 20 minutes in total package length), Web Journalism (story, series or multimedia project, which appeared online and may include text, photo, video, graphics); and, Opinion and Analysis Journalism (commentary and analysis in any medium).

Entries must have been published/broadcast in 2022 and have been made widely available to a U.S audience. Your material and a cover letter explaining how the entry meets the requirements can be submitted here. There is no fee to enter.

The deadline for entry is January 30, 2023 at 11:59pm EST.

Hillman Prize winners will be awarded a $5,000 honorarium and a certificate at an event to be held in person, in New York City, on May 9, 2023.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

More Opportunities

The True Story Award

The True Story Award is the first global journalism prize. Its aim is to make reporters’ voices known beyond the borders of their home countries,

View Details